Hastings Reintroduces Legislation to Award Congressional Gold Medal Posthumously to Lena Horne

f t # e
Washington, D.C., February 11, 2015 | comments
Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL) released the following statement on the reintroduction of the Lena Horne Recognition Act of 2015, which would award the Congressional Gold Medal Posthumously to Lena Horne. (Please find attached a copy of the legislation):

“I am truly honored to reintroduce legislation that would award Lena Horne with a Congressional Gold Medal.  I believe that her outstanding contributions to American culture and the Civil Rights Movement are to be commended.  

“From a very early age, Ms. Horne was a trailblazer for African American performers, working her way from the famed Cotton Club in Harlem to Broadway and Hollywood. Her beauty and unique voice brought her much attention for decades, as she battled the extremes of Jim Crow and segregation.

“However, Ms. Horne never wavered from her commitment to the Civil Rights Movement, challenging the boundaries placed before her, and sometimes losing out on personal gain by refusing to adhere to the societal structures at hand.

“As we celebrate Black History Month, let us remind ourselves of the work that has been done to create new paths for so many others. Lena Horne was the epitome of class, elegance, and talent. Her commitment to social justice is deserving of this highest honor.”

Joining Hastings as original cosponsors (22):

Reps. Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Niki Tsongas (D-MA), John Yarmuth (D-KY), Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA), Patrick Murphy (D-FL), John C. Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Mark Takano (D-CA), Corrine Brown (D-FL), Janice Hahn (D-CA), Dina Titus (D-NV), G.K. Butterfield (D-NC), Andre Carson (D-IN), Donna Edwards (D-MD), Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Charles B. Rangel (D-NY), Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), Steve Chabot (R-OH), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Marcia Fudge (D-OH), and Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY).

Congressman Alcee L. Hastings serves as Senior Member of the House Rules Committee, Ranking Democratic Member of the U.S. Helsinki Commission, and Co-Chairman of the Florida Delegation.


f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.