Hastings Reintroduces Legislation Condemning the Yulin Dog Meat Festival and Urging China to End the Dog Meat Trade

f t # e
Washington, D.C., January 9, 2017 | comments

Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL) released the following statement after reintroducing legislation condemning the Yulin Dog Meat Festival and urging China to end the dog meat trade. The resolution will be numbered H.Res.30 for the 115th Congress. (Please find attached a copy of the resolution):

“I am proud to reintroduce my bipartisan resolution condemning the Yulin Dog Meat Festival. This festival and others like it that celebrate the torture of dogs and cats are abominations. During Yulin, dogs are burnt, skinned, or boiled alive, have their paws cleaved off while conscious, and are staked to the ground and beaten to death. No one can see these images and walk away unaffected.

“I am deeply appreciative to the thousands of supporters who worked tirelessly to champion this resolution in the past year, and sincerely hope that Speaker Paul Ryan brings this measure to the floor for passage during the 115th Congress. This resolution is the first of its kind to focus Congress’ attention toward animal welfare issues overseas, and I will continue to do all that I can to end this barbaric and inhumane practice.  In the coming weeks, I will also introduce additional measures to further fight the global dog meat trade and ban the consumption of dog and cat meat in the United States. Together we will send a message that no matter where you live, animal cruelty is simply wrong.”

The legislation was introduced with 49 original co-sponsors. They include: Reps. Mike Bishop (R-MI), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Vern Buchanan (R-FL), Tony Cardenas (D-CA), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Kathy Castor (D-FL), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Gerald Connolly (D-VA), John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), Ryan Costello (R-PA), Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Daniel Donovan (R-NY), Lois Frankel (D-FL), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Hank Johnson, Jr. (D-GA), William R. Keating (D-MA), Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Jim Langevin (D-RI), John Lewis (D-GA), Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Gwen Moore (D-WI), Tim Murphy (R-PA), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Donald M., Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Scott Perry (R-PA), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Gregorio Sablan (D-MP), Linda T. Sanchez (D-CA), John Sarbanes (D-MD), Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL), Adam Schiff (D-CA), Christopher Smith (R-NJ), Steve Stivers (R-OH), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Dina Titus (D-NV), Niki Tsongas (D-MA), Fred Upton (R-MI), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Peter Welch (D-VT), Frederica Wilson (D-FL), John Yarmuth (D-K), and Lee Zeldin (R-NY).

Congressman Alcee L. Hastings serves as Senior Member of the House Rules Committee, Ranking Democratic Member of the U.S. Helsinki Commission, and Co-Chairman of the Florida Delegation.


f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations